After the recent and shocking news that the beloved Pumpkin Spice Latte (or ‘PSL’) is not vegan, vegans across Canada were outraged to discover that other beloved vegetable-coffee combinations are not vegan.
In an updated Fall Drink nutrition sheet, from the Starbucks website, it was revealed that the Beet Frappuccino and the Dark Chocolate Cabbage Macchiato contain dairy. The ‘Beet Frapp’ lists dairy as an ingredient, while the ‘DCCM’ lists both dairy and eggs as ingredients.
Mark LeBaron, the spokesperson of Vegans for Life (a local pro-vegan association) said to the Honk: “we are seriously devastated by this. Like, seriously. You’d think that after all the press the non-vegan PSL got that Starbucks would review all their drinks.” The vegan community is feeling this revelation is a personal affront.
It is possible that Starbucks has simply not updated their ingredient lists from the pre-PSL scandal, but it is also possible that Starbucks simply does not care about vegans. LeBaron said that Vegans for Life is considering legal measures to force Starbucks to become a provider of equal opportunity drinks. “I’m not saying that this will become a human rights concern,” said LeBaron, “but we’ll have to see. We are looking at intermediate means of punishing Starbucks, but it’s really hard to figure out what to do. It’s not like you can just, like, go to another coffee shop.” Starbucks was unavailable for comment.
Until further notice vegan Starbucks aficionados’ may have to find their vegetable coffee fix in some other way, even if that means exploring other coffee shops.